Tavistock athletes among medal winners at Devon 10,000m Championships

Tavistock’s Will Dax in action during the Devon 10,000m Championships (picture by James Armstrong, Tavistock Physio Clinics)

Sam Lake after finishing as first women in the Devon 10,000m Championships (picture by James Armstrong, Tavistock Physio Clinics)

THERE were new winners at the Devon 10,000m Championships, which for the third year running were held at Tavistock.

Exeter Harriers’ Callum Crawford made a successful debut at the distance on the track by winning the men’s title on Wednesday night in 34:48.99.

Second place went to Erme Valley Harriers’ veteran Andy Perry, who overcame the hot conditions to clock 36:32.52.

Tavistock youngster Will Dax, who had run the tough Burrator Horseshoe race at the weekend, took third and was also first under-20 athlete home in 36:57.40.

His club colleague Sam Lake won the women’s title in 40:20.83. She had come second in 2016.

Fellow Tavistock athlete Pete Bazley was first over-60 veteran.

This year ahead of the 25-lap event, Tavistock Athletic Club also host an open mile competition.

Erme Valley Harriers’ under-20 athlete Nathan Brown was the fastest overall in the four-lap race. He clocked a new personal best of 4:41.39.

Second fastest from two races, and first under-17, was Torbay’s James Alcock in 5:01.24, while South West Road Runners’ James Benham was third quickest in 5:03.45.

There was a great battle to be first under-15 athlete home between Torbay’s Alex Bly and Tavistock’s Oliver Woodmason.

Bly was just able to cross the line first in 5:12.33, with Woodmason stopping the clock at 5:13.72.

Tavistock’s under-20 runner Emma Ryder was fastest women on the night with 5:30.04, with team-mate Natasha Farrington quickest under-17 female in 5:44.06.

Full results can be found HERE

Action from the open mile race at Tavistock on Wednesday night (picture by James Armstrong, Tavistock Physio Clinics)

Leave a Reply