Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: Summers and Bown claims titles at Dartmoor Discovery

WESTON AC runner Kieron Summers successfully defended his Dartmoor Discovery title on Saturday.

In wet and misty conditions, Summers stormed around the tough 32-mile course to win in a time of 3:51:31.

An impressive showing by Exmouth Harrier Hannah Bown, who was running the famous ultra race for the first time, secured her the women’s top spot in 4:37:46.

Dartmoor Discovery (DD) race director Roger Hayes, who is also chairman of Teignbridge Trotters, said: “Kieron and Hannah triumphed after what has been a hugely difficult 18 months for all runners, amid considerable disruption caused by the global coronavirus pandemic.

“I’m so proud of them, as I am of every runner who completed the DD this year. It was a great way to show how dedication and grit can overcome difficult circumstances.”

Former winner Dave Tomlin was second, finishing in 3:57:03, with Robert Kelly of Okehampton RC third, in a time of 3:58:07.

Erme Valley’s Simon Fitze came eighth in 4:19.30, with Royal Navy’s Sam Childs just outside the top 10 in 11th spot.

Looe Pioneers’ Joanne Robinson was second woman and first over-45, finishing in 4:42:13 and club colleague Emma Langstaff came third overall and second F45 in 4:43:15.

East Cornwall Harriers’ Diane Roy was first female over-55 in 5:03.45.

The event has bounced back from its enforced cancellation in 2020, returning with a new race headquarters at the Princetown Community Centre, where the organisers have been able to offer runners an improved experience and better facilities.

Hayes said: “I’m deeply grateful to the Princetown Community Centre team for their support as we worked together to stage the event. The DD is a race that has community at its heart and it’s very fitting that this fine community centre is now our new race headquarters.”

The Dartmoor Discovery, which starts and finishes in Princetown and takes runners through Dartmeet, Poundsgate, Newbridge, Ashburton, Buckland-in-the-Moor, Widecombe-in-the-Moor and Postbridge, is organised by leading South West running club the Teignbridge Trotters.

Renowned for breathtaking views, equally breathtaking hills and weather that always surprises, the event is the UK’s longest single-lap road race.

The run has been steadily growing in popularity. This year, was the biggest event ever with a record 211 finishers crossing the line, out of a record starting line-up of 223 runners.

Okehampton scooped the men’s team prize with Kelly, Paul Crease (4:11:42) and Andrew Vallance (4:25:23), triumphed. Running Forever RC were second and a dominant Okehampton secured third place.

The women’s team award went to Teignbridge Trotter’s team of Mandy Wheeler (5:05:32), Jacki Woon (5:08:01) and Wendy Goldthorp (5:15:36). Almost Athletes took second place.

Saturday was a bittersweet day for Hayes, who was presiding over his 10th and final DD as race director.

He said: “It has been a great 11 years since we took over the event. I’ve met some amazing people and witnessed some incredible performances.

“There has been a lot of blood, sweat and tears out on that course but there has been an incredible amount of camaraderie, support and love, too.

“I shall miss it tremendously but I know that my successor Liz Barnett will do a wonderful job of ensuring the DD continues to go from strength to strength.”

Full results can be found HERE. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply