Region’s swimming clubs well represented on national programme

MOUNT Kelly, Plymouth Leander, Dartmoor Darts, Dinnaton and Tavistock have all had young swimmers selected for the Swim England National Development Programme.

The programme is the third step on the Swim England extended talent pathway – but the first on the national framework.

Leah Bowen, Felicity Boyle, Nathaniel Brissett, Ruby Griffiths, Olivia Martin, Fergus Thomson, Isis van der Stroom, Isabella Vaughan, James Wheatley and Hollie Widdows have been selected from Mount Kelly, while Plymouth Leander are represented by Finn Broekhoven, Ashton Hallows, Blythe Kinsman, Aidan Watts and Ruby Wheeler. Dinnaton’s Jasmine D’Cunha, Dartmoor Darts’ Joshua Williams and Tavistock’s Samuel Rice are also named on the programme.

The 13 and 14-year-olds picked will be expected to join a day of online workshops on either October 3 or 4 covering ‘Loving Race Day’, sleep recovery and injury prevention.

A dry land conditioning session will also emphasise mobility and stability to enhance the anti-rotational / rotational strokes and streamlining.

All the swimmers were chosen using the new adjusted selection guidelines that have been introduced for the 2020-21 season because of the coronavirus pandemic.

A Swim England spokesperson said: “Swim England Swimming Talent have tried where possible to make these guidelines robust and transparent whilst also promoting fairness and inclusion to all of our aspiring young swimmers.

“We intend to continue to collaborate with our regions and counties and where possible continue our pathway activities to help enhance the daily training environment so swimmers and coaches that show future performance potential have continued support along their journey.”

Due to the pandemic, there will be no pool camps in 2020 and dry land activity will be carried out online. It is hoped that pool activity may resume in 2021.

Leave a Reply