Cycling / Gallery

GALLERY: Pictures from the penultimate round of the South West Cyclo-Cross League at Plymouth

PLYMOUTH Corinthian Cycling Club hosted the 10th and penultimate round of the South West Cyclo-Cross League on Sunday at Ernesettle.

The club put together a challenging course, full of mud, twists and turns at the Plymouth City Moto X Park on the edge of the Tamar.

The event attracted riders from under-eight right through to veterans, who all left covered in mud.

St Piran and Mid-Devon rider Tristan Davies took victory in the men’s race to boost his hopes of winning the overall series title.

He was followed home by Pilgrim Flyers and Rockin Bikes’ Oliver Allen, who was first junior beating rival Sam Medlyn, who was third overall and second junior.

Rosie Andrews (Certini) continued her dominance of the junior girls’ category with another convincing win. She has not been beaten in the series this season.

Andrews was second female overall on Sunday behind Bridport veteran Catriona Ross.

In the senior women’s category, Plymouth Corinthian’s Kari Eilertsen was third behind Heidi Gould and Becky Cornwell.

Mid-Devon riders Jackie Shute and Robin Delve, fresh from competing at last weekend’s National Championships in Shrewsbury, were among the veteran winners on Sunday.

There was success for Dartmoor Velo’s Leo White in the under-16 boys’ category, while Taw Velo’s Ellen Garnsworthy took first in the corresponding girls’ race to boost her hopes of the series title.

Pilgrim Flyers dominated the under-14 girls’ category on Sunday with Anna Lane, Molly Lane and Grace Ward filling the top three spots.

Minehead’s Joseph Wright won the under-14 boys’ race, ahead of Taw Velo’s Louis Garnsworthy, Dartmoor Velo’s Ewan Dix and Pilgrim Flyers’ Oliver Murphy.

Dartmoor had five riders in the top 10 of the under-12 girls’ race, with Lara Dix their top finisher in third place behind Wheal Velocity’s Eva Fox and Taw Velo’s Georgina Mahoney.

Minehead’s Louis Wright won the under-12 boys’ race, with Mid-Devon’s Ben Ward and Wadebridge’s Daisy Roberts victorious in the under-eight events.

Full results can be found HERE.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply