Plymouth Devils

New signing Boxall to feature in Devils’ home clash with Berwick

Devils arenaNEW signing Steve Boxall is set to make his Plymouth Devils debut in their Premier League match against Berwick at the St Boniface Arena on Friday evening (7.15pm),

Boxall, a 29-year-old who was born in Canterbury, has been without a track this season after riding for Rye House and Lakeside last season.

He comes into the Devils line-up to fill the vacancy created by the departure of number one Brady Kurtz, who has quit Premier League racing to concentrate on his international, Continental and Elite League commitments.

Jack Holder takes over at number one in the Plymouth averages and forms a new partnership with Stefan Nielsen, who is promoted from reserve. However, the Devils are awaiting a late fitness check on Nielsen and will operate rider replacement if he is ruled out with a hand injury.

Berwick also have a recent signing with Polish rider Dawid Stachyra at second string to experienced Australian Kevin Doolan in the opening partnership.

Completing the top five are Dane Thomas Jorgensen, Dutchman Theo Pijper and Doolan’s fellow Aussie Matthew Wethers, who is also a doubtful starter because of an arm injury.

At reserve are Austrian Danny Gappmaier and British youngster Liam Carr.

Plymouth team manager Lee Trigger warns that his side will need to be on form against the Bandits.

He said: “Berwick are fighting for a place in the play-offs and we cannot take anything for granted.

“They have some good riders who perform well on our track. Doolan scored a maximum last time he was here, when he was guesting for us earlier in the season, and Jorgensen is a former track record holder at the Arena.”

Before the meeting the Devils will be parading the Premier Fours trophy, which they won recently at Peterborough.

Plymouth: Jack Holder, Stefan Nielsen, Steve Boxall, Todd Kurtz, Kyle Newman. Reserves: Sam Simota, Ellis Perks.

Berwick: Kevin Doolan, Dawid Stachyra, Theo Pijper, Matthew Wethers, Thomas Jorgensen. Reserves: Danny Gappmaier, Liam Carr.


Leave a Reply