Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: Plymouth and Tavistock athletes win titles at South West Schools’ Champs

CITY of Plymouth and Tavistock AC athletes were among the winners at the South West Schools’ Championships at Exeter on Saturday.

Tavistock enjoyed a clean sweep of the medals in the intermediate girls’ hammer courtesy of Phoebe Milburn, Louisa Hess and Hannah Walker, who were all representing Devon.

Tavistock College’s Milburn won with a new personal best of 50.33m – the first time she had thrown over 50m – to move up to fourth in the UK U17 rankings.

Mount Kelly’s Hess was second with a new PB of 44.59m, with Tavistock College’s Walker third with 41.84m.

City of Plymouth’s Poppy Northcott claimed two titles representing Cornwall Schools.

The Torpoint student started the day with victory in the intermediate girls’ 300m hurdles in 45.15 seconds, with her club colleague and Devon athlete Kate Gray in third with a season’s best time of 46.83 seconds. Northcott then won the 200m in 26.14 seconds.

Fellow City of Plymouth and Cornwall athlete Jacob Lamboll just missed out on a double in the senior boys’ events.

He won the 400m in 49.91 seconds, but he was pushed all the way by county colleague and Tavistock AC’s Joe Wheeler, who finished incredibly strongly to set a new PB of 50.07. City of Plymouth’s Thomas Elliott was just outside the medals, finishing fourth in a season’s best time of 51.80 seconds.

Lamboll just missed out on also winning the 200m, finishing second in 22.60 seconds. Club and county colleague Connell McCarthy was third in 23.14.

Eggbuckland School’s multi-talented athlete Mia Endacott claimed the junior girls’ 200m title with an impressive lifetime best of 26.17 seconds. The England youth footballer also reached the final of 100m and only missed out on a medal in that by 0.05 of a second.

Fellow City of Plymouth athlete Mali Heard triumphed for Devon in the intermediate girls’ 300m in 41.35 seconds.

Another Plymouth athlete Nubia Evans-Shields, who tops the UK U17 rankings, as expected won the intermediate girls’ discus. She threw 39.06m.

There was also discus glory for Tavistock AC’s Owen Fileman, who set a new PB of 35.14m to win the junior boys’ event.

Mount Kelly’s Ben Callard claimed the senior boys’ long jump title with a wind-assisted 6.68m.

Saltash School’s Henry Curtis, another City of Plymouth athlete, came second in the senior boys’ 110m hurdles in 15.19 seconds.

There were also silver medals on the track for Nicolas Maczugowski, Gregor Norster, Harriet Beardsmore and Jacob Harrison.

Maczugowski (Tavistock College/City of Plymouth) took second place in a hard-fought intermediate boys’ 400m hurdles in 59.66 seconds, while club colleague and Devonport High School’s Beardsmore was runners-up in the senior girls’ 400m in 59.70 seconds.

Norster’s silver came in the intermediate boys’ 800m in 2:04.73, while Harrison, competing for Cornwall, took second in a closely-fought senior boys’ 1,500m in 4:02.86. His twin brother Ben just missed out on a medal finishing fourth.

Molly Shorey (Plymouth College/City of Plymouth) claimed bronze medal for Devon in a strong intermediate girls’ 1,500m, where the top six all went under 4:50. Shorey clocked 4:42.93, which was just outside her lifetime best. Club colleague Holly Reid, running for Cornwall, was seventh in a season’s best time of 4:53.37.

In the field, Devonport High School for Girls’ Ella Isaias took silver in the senior girls’ high jump with 1.63m, while fellow City of Plymouth athlete Matthew Newton was second in the senior boys’ triple jump with 12.22m.

Tavistock College’s Tegan Brown was also a silver medal winner. She claimed it in the junior girls’ hammer with 30.53m, while Tavistock AC team-mate Orla White took bronze in the junior girls’ discus.

There also a bronze for Eggbuckland’s Diego Lerro in the junior boys’ shot with a PB of 11.17.

City of Plymouth hurdler Adam Dingley did not compete at the championships due to a slight injury, but he has been named in Devon’s team for the English Schools’ Championships at the start of next month.

Devon’s team to compete at the English Schools’ Championships in Manchester is: Mia Endacott, Nia Harradine-Cole, Freya Woodhead, Olivia Steer, Daisy Rowe, Tegan Brown, Mali Heard, Scarlett Livingstone, Isla Bryson, Innes Fitzgerald, Molly Shorey, Kate Gray, Eden Robinson, Nubia Evans-Shields, Phoebe Milburn, Louisa Hess, Estelle Roots, Harriet Beardsmore, Katie Chapman, Hanna Ulvede, Ella Isaias, Georgina Scoot, Henry Hassell, Ben Matthews, Aaron Smith, Diego Lerro, Owen Fileman, Charlie Hill, Gregor Norster, Adam Dingley, Josh Taylor, Nicolas Maczugowski, Linus Emuna, Anthony Lavis, Dan Hamilton-Strong, Sam Mills, Oliver Capps, Ben Callard, Will Saltmarsh, Ben Crosby.

Cornwall team: Micho Tao, Ben Harrison, Jacob Harrison, Fabio Zamparelli, Zara Mitchell, Connell McCarthy, Jacob Lamboll, Victor Millaly, Joe Wheeler, Blake Grant-Williams, Kim Knight, Henry Curtis, Fin Thurman, James Rogers, Mawgen Warren, Sonny Lee-Hirst, Craig Woods, Liam Higgins, Poppy Northcott, Bo Rason, Freya Howard, Cara Ellis.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Swipe to see full gallery. All pictures are low resolution and are protected by copyright.


Leave a Reply