Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: Armada clubs end Westward Cross Country League on a high

THE Westward Cross Country League came to an end at Plymouth on Sunday as Central Park hosted the sixth and final race of the series.

Plymouth had also held the first race, but stepped in to replace Stover for the final event. This time, however, runners ran the course in the opposite direction.

Plymouth Harriers’ Johnny Gilby claimed both the senior men’s and M40 overall series titles by finishing fourth on Sunday in a race won by Exeter University’s Will Aitken.

There was also a top 10 finish in a strong men’s race at Central Park for Tavistock AC’s Ben Neale.

There were series age category prizes for Tavistock Run Project’s Alex Peyton-Jones (2nd, M40), City of Plymouth’s Stephen Burns (2nd, M55) and Simon Anderson (3rd M55), Tavistock AC’s Richard Drage (1st, M60) and Martin Exley-Deane (2nd, M60) and Erme Valley Harriers’ Ken Summers (3rd, M65). Tavistock also came third in the veterans’ team category.

Tavistock’s Jo Meek picked up a number of series trophies. She came second overall female (first over-17) and second F40 after another strong run at the weekend. She came third female overall on Sunday and second senior (excluding under-17 girls) at Central Park. She was also part of the Tavistock teams that took second in both the senior and veterans’ categories.

Tavistock’s Nikki Kelly was fifth overall and fourth senior woman on Sunday, with University of Plymouth’s Ellie Robinson and Ella Sykes also claiming top 10 finishes in Central Park.

Tavistock’s Charlotte Walker was also among the trophies in the series. She claimed second place in the under-17 category and third female overall and was also part of the Tavistock’s successful team.

Club team-mates Hannah Worth (2nd, F35), Jenny Jeeves (3rd, F50) and Helen Kula-Przezwanski (3rd, F60) also claimed series prizes.

City of Plymouth AC dominated the under-15 girls’ category all season and their A and B teams finished first and second overall.

In the final race of the series, Holly Reid came second, with team-mates Molly Gilbey fourth, Abbie Chapman fifth, Madeleine Jones sixth, Isabella Morris eighth and Phoebe Timson 10th. Erme Valley Harriers’ Bella May also finished in the top 10.

Gilbey took second overall in the series, with Chapman finishing third.

Tavistock AC’s Zoe Bigham continued her great season in the under-11 girls’ category. She took victory at Central Park to secure the series title, ahead of City of Plymouth’s Elsie Goodspeed, who was second on Sunday and overall.

There were top 10 finishes in the under-11 girls’ race at the weekend for Erme Valley’s Maya Rees-Durham, Freya Norris and Isabelle Drew and also for Tavistock’s Eloise Patrick.

In the under-13 girls’ race at Central Park, Erme Valley’s Isabella Trowell came fifth and Tavistock’s Anya McAulay sixth. Tavistock claimed third place in the series team event.

City of Plymouth’s Barnaby Hutchings secured second in the series in the under-13 boys’ category, despite not competing on Sunday. In that race at Central Park, Tavistock’s Connor Duffin came fifth and East Cornwall Harriers’ Benjamin Marriott eighth.

Erme Valley Harriers’ Thomas Carter secured third in the under-11 boys’ race on Sunday, with City of Plymouth’s Finley Eales, Lucas Sweeney, Harrison Crawford and Isaac Bramall and Tavistock’s Freddie Whybrow also in the top 10.

Erme Valley’s Charlie Milward came fifth in the under-17 boys’ race at the weekend.

Full results can be found HERE.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Swipe to see full gallery. All pictures are low resolution and are protected by copyright.


Leave a Reply