Other sport

Dickson wins closely-fought Roger Ayers Memorial competition

DAVE DICKSON has been crowned champion in the Plymouth Billiards League’s Roger Ayers Memorial competition, in a close finish after 14 weeks of action.

This season has seen the league revert to a singles format for the first time with seven players competing for the title in handicapped matches.

Three matches are played weekly, with venues rotating between the Keyham Barton Conservative Club, Saltash Social Club and Elburton Snooker Club. The competition is played in memory of the late Roger Ayers who was a stalwart of Plymouth Billiards and a vice-chairman of the league.

The title remained in the balance until the final match of the competition as Dickson faced Saltash club-mate Barry Russell, with the former being the first to reach the 125 points target by winning 125-80. With seven wins this put him on level-terms with current Devon champion Steve Brookshaw, resulting in the title being decided on points countback.

Points countback was also a factor in separating Steve James, Merv Pengelly and Chris Coumbe in third, fourth and fifth place respectively, as they each finished on six wins. John Wilde and Barry Russell occupied sixth and seventh position respectively, with only two points between top and bottom of the table.

A number of matches went down to the wire, in particular with five matches being decided by five points or less as the points target was reached.

Chris Coumbe compiled the highest break of the competition with a 145 against Dave Dickson at Elburton, while Brookshaw’s three figure contributions included runs of 125 and 105.

Leave a Reply