Cycling / Gallery

GALLERY: Pictures from the South West Cyclo-Cross League meeting at Newnham Park

CYCLISTS of all ages and abilities descended on Plympton’s Newnham Park on Sunday for the fourth round of the 2019-20 South West Cyclo-Cross League.

It was the first time in two years that the Plymouth area had hosted a leg of the championship after two planned meetings last season had to be cancelled.

Heavy rain before the event made parts of the course muddy but conditions for the races themselves were perfect.

There was a high quality men’s field with Ben Wadey taking victory ahead of Mid-Devon’s Tristan Davies and Rockin Bikes’ Richard Long.

Pilgrim Flyers’ Oliver Allen was sixth overall and first junior man ahead of Sam Medlyn and Taw Velo’s Dylan Dayman.

Fellow Plymouth rider Rosie Andrews (Certini) was first junior women, with Taw Velo’s Becky Cornwell first senior women.

Plymouth Corinthian’s Tracey Corcoran was second women over-40 behind Bridport’s Catriona Ross.

Lee Hayward was first male over-40, with Exeter’s Tim Carpenter first over-50 man and Mid-Devon’s Catherine Kilburn first over-50 female.

Pilgrim Flyers filled three of the top four spots in the under-14 girls’ race, with Anna Lane first, Molly Lane second and Grace Ward fourth behind Meribel Hudson.

Oliver Murphy was first under-14 boy, finishing ahead of Joseph Wright and Dartmoor Velo’s Ewan Dix.

Dartmoor claimed two of the top three in the under-16 boys’ contest with Leo White winning and James Pearcy coming third behind Leon Dawes.

The under-16 girls’ category was dominated by Taw Velo, who had Ellen Garnsworthy winning, Ellen Webbie second and Kayleigh Cook third.

In the under-12 races, Louise Wright, Rhys Cooke and Jed Claxton were the top three boys and Eva Fox, Georgia Mahoney and Dartmoor’s Lydia Stone were the top three girls.

Mid-Devon’s Matthew Holmes was first under-10 boy, followed by Dartmoor’s Alex Pearcy and Lucas Riches, with Lauren Fox, Imogen Nute and Isoble Vause-Gynn top three under-10 girls.

The top three under-eight boys were Ben Ward, Sebastian Weatherill and Charlie Day, with Willow Peters, Daisy Roberts and Plymouth’s Emily Earl top three girls in that age group.

Full results can be found HERE.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply