Pilgrim Flyers impress at second Soggy Bottom Series event at Newnham Park


32761849310_bbe75136bf_bTHERE was more success for Pilgrim Flyers mountain bike club at the second Soggy Bottom Series event at Newnham Park on Sunday.

The young Pilgrim riders had impressed at the season-opener in horrible conditions last month and the club were once again among the medals at February’s leg, which took place in slightly better weather.

The club took first and second in the under-12 boys’ race, with Oliver Murphy triumphing in 25.29 minutes and his Pilgrim team-mate Archie Townsend finishing second in 26.09.

There was also wins for Oli Allen and Fiona Barron.

Allen claimed victory in the youth boys’ race. He clocked an impressive time of 56.13 minutes to finish more than four minutes ahead of Abergavenny’s Huw Higgins-Worrall, who took second in 1:00.33. Pilgrim Flyers’ Alex Whitemore was third in 1:06.05.

Barron won the youth girls’ event in 1:12.23.

There were good battles in the juvenile girls and junior women’s races.

Pilgrim Flyers’ Rosie Andrews had to settle for second in the juvenile girls’ race behind Abergavenny’s Eve Higgins-Worrall. The pair were a long way ahead of the rest of the field.

There was also a second-placed finish for Pilgrim Flyers’ Helen Barron in the junior women’s race, which was won by Merida’s Patsy Caines.32328981273_769bef6941_b

Another silver medallist was Flyers’ Ben Goldsmith, who finished behind Taw Velo’s Max Standen in the boys’ under-10 category.

Fellow Pilgrim rider Jack Southcott took third in the juvenile boys’ race, which was won by Freddy Birchill, with Leon Dawes second.

Carb Cycles Kodie Harmer triumphed in the under-10 girls’ race, Taw Vale’s Ellen Garnsworthy the under-12 girls’ event, Oliver Riches the under-eight boys’ competition and Bethany Coates claimed the under-eight girls’ title.

The senior men’s race saw Clee Cyling’s Ben Wadey take victory in 1:30.41, ahead of Royal Marine Ollie Yates (1:39.29) and Stephen Hodge (1:41.19). Plymouth Corinthians rider Mark Byrne was fourth in 1:43.46, with Ben Farrer fifth in 1:48.08.

The men’s veterans’ race was incredibly competitive. Lee Hayward claimed the title in 1:39.48, with Pete Dawe second in 1:42.21 and Pilgrim Flyers’ Jonathan Tuttle third in 1:43.49.

The grand veterans’ event was won by Anthony Jennings, while the women’s senior title was claimed by Amy Jones.

The third, and final, Soggy Bottom Series competition takes place at Newnham Park on March 26.

Full results from the second leg can be found HERE.

Pictures from the event can be viewed HERE

Leave a Reply