Argyle / Football

Jason Banton and Dominic Blizzard released by Plymouth Argyle

HomePark1.jpgJASON BANTON and Dominic Blizzard are among the players being released by Plymouth Argyle following their failure to win promotion to League One.

Also leaving Home Park this summer will be youngsters River Allen, Matt Lecointe and Jamie Richards, plus Marvin Morgan and Ollie Norburn.

Coach Paul Wotton has officially retired from playing, while the League Two club have offered new deals to Lewis Alessandra, Tyler Harvey, Anthony O’Connor and James Bittner and taken up options to extend the contracts of Aaron Bentley and Peter Hartley.

The Pilgrims have wasted no time in announcing their retained list. It came less than 24 hours after they were beaten in the League Two play-off semi-final by Wycombe.

Argyle chairman James Brent said: “On behalf of all Pilgrims, I’d like to thank the players who are leaving Home Park for the part they have played in the life of the club.

Despite the disappointing end to the campaign, we have enjoyed our best season for a number of years – with more points and our highest league placing in a decade.

“They have all played their part in the club’s resurgence, and we are grateful for their contribution.  We wish them every success in their future career.”

Out of contract, offered new contract: Lewis Alessandra, James Bittner, Tyler Harvey, Anthony O’Connor.

Out of contract, released: River Allen, Jason Banton, Dominic Blizzard, Matt Lecointe, Marvin Morgan, Ollie Norburn, Jamie Richards, Paul Wotton (retired).

Under contract: Ryan Brunt, Lee Cox, Carl McHugh, Luke McCormick, Kelvin Mellor, Curtis Nelson, Ben Purrington, Reuben Reid, Deane Smalley.

Option to extend contract taken up by the club: Aaron Bentley, Peter Hartley.


Leave a Reply