Other sport

Dickson, Brookshaw and Pengelly among the Plymouth Billiards League trophy winners

THE Plymouth Billiards League recently held their end of season trophy presentation at the Saltash Social Club.

A singles league format was used for the second time, having been first introduced in 2021, with two competitions played in a league format again this season. Saltash Social, Plympton Conservatives, Hyde Park and Legends Lounge were the host venues.

Saltash Social’s Dave Dickson made two trips to the trophy table as runner-up in the Roger Ayers competition and champion of the Trevor Davies Cup. Last year’s runner-up in the Roger Ayers competition, Steve Brookshaw, went one better this season to lift the trophy.

Meanwhile, Steve James produced some consistent results to finish in second place in the Trevor Davies Cup for the second year running.

In the league’s end-of-season knockout handicap competition at Plymouth Snooker Academy, Merv Pengelly beat Chris Coumbe 450-262 in the final. Pengelly also won the title in 2019.

Brookshaw achieved the highest break of the league season with a run of 130, one of four three-figure breaks he compiled. John Wilde was the winner of this season’s Committee Award.

The Plymouth Billiard League also organised the Devon County Billiards Championship this season on behalf of the Devon County Association, held at Plymouth Academy.

Barry Russell was in good form throughout the competition and lifted the trophy with a victory over defending champion Steve Brookshaw in the final by 353-208. Russell joins some illustrious names on the Rendell Cup, which dates back to the 1956-57 season.

Also eligible to play in the Cornwall Billiards Championship, Russell emulated that success in the final at St Neot, and therefore is now the current holder of both the Devon and Cornwall county trophies.

Leave a Reply