Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: East Cornwall Harriers’ women impress at Dartmoor Discovery ultra marathon

EAST Cornwall Harriers claimed the women’s team prize at the famous Dartmoor Discovery 32-mile ultra-marathon at the weekend.

They were led home by Diane Roy, who came fourth woman overall and first F55 in 4:55.10.

Fellow F55 athlete Sharon Daw was not too far behind, finishing fifth overall and second in her age category in 5:11.05, with Cheryl Hanns making up their team finishing third in her age category and 11th female overall.

Plymstock Road Runners’ Derrick Warren came fifth overall in 4:07.40. He was only beaten by Romsey Road Runners’ Ryan Snell, who won in a quick time of 3:46.27, Running Forever’s Dean Bennett (4:02.29), Weston’s Kieron Summers (4:04.11) and Guildford’s Michael Garnett (4:05.29).

The tough race, that sees athletes leave Princetown and head through Dartmeet, Poundsgate, Newbridge, Ashburton, Buckland-in-the-Moor, Widecombe-in-the-Moor and Postbridge before heading back to the start, attracts ultra-runners from all over the country.

The event includes some of the toughest climbs Dartmoor has to offer and is the longest single lap road ultra-marathon in the UK.

If just completing it is not enough, runners have to meet strict cut-off times during the way and finish in under six-and-a-half hours. This year 161 managed to complete the event.

Race director Liz said: “Huge congratulations to everyone who completed the gruelling 32 miles. I have tremendous respect for anyone who takes on the challenge that the DD presents.

“As always, the event is a massive team effort, a team that I’m very honoured to be a part of. The DD also couldn’t happen without the support of the local community in Princetown and the very generous support of our sponsors. All in all, it’s been another very successful staging of the UK’s longest single lap road race and I look forward to next year’s event.”

East Cornwall Harriers did have a good day as Ross Portass was seventh overall and third M45 in 4:12.23 and Patrict Munn was first M60 in 4:55.25.

Plymouth Harriers’ Ally Waldron claimed the F50 prize.

Full results can be found HERE.

The race is now organised by Teignbridge Trotters, who also put on the Haytor Heller (entry details HERE), which is coming up next month, the Totnes 10k (entry details HERE), that will take place on August 7, and the Templer Ten, that will be held in November.

The Haytor Heller is now part of the Dartmoor Fell Series, which continues this weekend with the Burrator Horseshoe race.

Meanwhile, Tavistock’s Sam Larkham claimed victory at the Buckland Boulder on Saturday.

Larkham clocked 37.02 minutes to see off the stiff challenge of Ceri Rees.

Rees took second in 37.38 minutes, with Josh Blake third in 38.42, Jake Hughes fourth (40.44), Scott Decker fifth (41.27) and Graham Bale was sixth (42.20).

Susan Bratchley was first woman home in 52.33 minutes, with Samantha Febrey second in 53.26 and Rosie Forbes third in 54.33.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply