Devon and Cornwall strengthen squads for County Championship meeting at Ivybridge

DEVON and Cornwall have both strengthened their squads for Saturday’s County Championship meeting at Ivybridge (3pm).

Devon, who lost 55-12 away at Gloucestershire in their opening game, are boosted by the availability of Plymouth Albion scrum-half Cameron Setter, plus the likes of Barnstaple winger Will Topps and Exmouth centre Ollie Rice.

Champions Cornwall, meanwhile, have added Matt Shepherd, Sam Matavesi and Seti Raumakita to their squad after opening their title defence with a 34-14 win at Surrey.

Albion back Shepherd will start, while Royal Navy players Matavesi and Raumakita are named on a strong bench for the Duchy, which also includes Chris Fuca and Tommy Phillips.

Ivybridge have seven players in Devon’s squad. Charlie Briant, Lewis Paterson, Tom Scoles, Matt Finn and George Wilson will start, while Mitch Pinkus and Ryan Dingle are named on the bench.

The host club are expecting a big crowd for the game at Cross-in-Hand which will see Devon and Cornwall meet in a County Championship match for the first time in seven years.

“It is nice to have a big county game at Ivybridge,” said player-coach Lewis Paterson, who has previously played for Cornwall.

“From what I’ve seen on social media and other things, I think there will be a very big crowd.

“The Cornish will bring a lot of supporters and the die-hard Devon fans have been waiting for this game for long time.

“I think everyone is very excited – the county, the club, the town (Ivybridge) and the players.”

Devon: Charlie Briant (Ivybridge), Will Topps (Barnstaple), Lewis Paterson (Ivybridge), Ollie Rice (Exmouth), Tom Scoles (Ivybridge), Tom Whelan (Sidmouth), Cameron Setter (Plymouth Albion), Russell Morris (Brixham), Ashley Crouch (Barnstaple), Matt Finn (Ivybridge), Jack Fahy (Exmouth), George Wilson (Ivybridge), Matt Harvey (Brixham), James Harris (capt, Exmouth), Sam Thomas (Brixham). Reps:  Mike Richards (Exmouth), Isaac Dalton (Exmouth), Matt Dowrick (Newton Abbot), Tom McGrattan (Okehampton), Ryan Dingle (Ivybridge), Jack Bond (Newton Abbot), Mitch Pinkus (Ivybridge).

Cornwall: Matt Shepherd (Plymouth Albion), Lewis Vinnicombe (Redruth), Robin Wedlake (Plymouth Albion), Jake Murphy (capt, Barnstaple), Tom Notman (Redruth), David Mankee (Camborne), Jack Oulton (Redruth), Andruis Zacharius (Camborne), Richard Brown (Redruth), Craig Williams (Redruth), Bryn Jenkins (Barnstaple), Tony Whittle (Camborne), Grant Randlesome (Penryn), George Jones (Penryn), BJ Chapman (Redruth). Reps: Matt Ballard (Wadebridge), Sam Matavesi (Camborne), Brad Howe (Redruth), Tommy Phillips (Redruth), Chris Fuca (Redruth), Seti Raumakita (Plymouth Albion), Joe Elderkin (Redruth).

Leave a Reply