Pilgrim Flyers among winners at South West Cyclo-Cross Champs

img_4967 Oliver Allen Pilgrim Flyers

PILGRIM Flyers’ Rosie Andrews and Oliver Allen were among the winners at the South West Cyclo-Cross Championships at Mount Kelly College.

The Tavistock Wheelers hosted event, which was also the final South West League series meet of the season, saw four races around the historic school’s grounds.

Andrews and Allen both impressed in the third race of the day, which was for under-14, under-16 and novice seniors.

img_5004 Rosie Andrews Pilgrim FlyersAndrews produced a dominant display to take victory in the under-14 girls’ category.

She was nearly seven minutes ahead of her nearest rival and finished an impressive 13th overall in the race.

Second under-14 girl was Kernow’s Grace Whitehouse, with Ellen Webber third and Pilgrim Flyers’ Jasmine Mulkerrin fourth.

Allen won the boys’ under-16 title and was overall winner of the race, producing four evenly match laps of the tough, hilly course at Kelly.

One-and-All’s Tristan Davies was second under-16 boy, with Pilgrim Flyers’ Alex Whitemore third.

There was also a third place for Pilgrim’s Jack Southcott in the under-14 boys’ category. One-and-All’s Samuel Medlyn was first, with Complete’s Leon Dawes second.

The first novice lady was Jenna Murphy, while Tavistock’s Kath Fletcher took second.

Dan Murphy was first novice man, with Tavistock’s Adrian Wilson second.

img_5180 Helen Barron Pilgrim FlyersThe main race saw a dominant display by Zepnat’s Alexander Forrester, who won by two-and-a-half minutes after pulling clear on the second of nine laps.

Second home was Matt Noble, who led for the first lap, with veteran international Steve Dennis, an over-50 competitor, third. Dennis was crowned South West champion as Forrester and Noble were not eligible for the title.

Lucy Allan of TORQ Performance was first women, with Pilgrim Flyers’ Helen Barron second and first junior.

The youngest competitors at Mount Kelly were the under-eight cyclists.

The under-eight boys’ winner was Joey Williams. Oliver Roches was second and Jack Nixon third. Isla Peters was first under-eight girl home and came fifth overall. Bethany Coates was second and Edolie Wilson third.

Max Standon was the under-10 winner, finishing 37 seconds ahead of second-placed Louis Garnsworthy, with Toby Murphy third and Tavistock’s Finn Ross fourth.

Kodie Harmer was first under-10 girl. Georgia Mahoney was second and Eva Fox third.

img_4945Mid-Devon dominated the under-12 boys’ category, with Dylan Garrin, Ed Salwood and Sol Drury filling the top three places. Host club Tavistock Wheelers did have eight riders home in the top 16. Ewan Dix was their top finisher in fifth.

Tavistock did take second, third and fourth in the under-12 girls’ section, courtesy of Emma Luckham, Orla Maguire and Eva Brown, respectively. Ellen Garnsworthy was the dominant winner of that event.

Full results can be found HERE 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply