Corinthians’ Sluman rolls back the years to take Westpoint victory

Sluman marks Parker

Plymouth Corinthians’ Adrian Sluman marks Andrew Parker

PLYMOUTH Corinthians’ Adrian Sluman rolled back the years to win the final Westpoint Circuit race of 2015.

His success came 11 years after his last victory on the Westpoint circuit.

The event, promoted by Exeter Wheelers, saw 50 riders line up for the 20-mile race, with strong
teams from Mid Devon CC, Exeter Wheelers and an eight-man outfit from Plymouth Corinthians.

With only four of the 1km laps completed, it was Sluman’s long-time advisory, Mid Devon’s former international, Andrew Parker, who lit the blue touch paper.

Parker attacked on the incline past the finish but was closely marked by Sluman, Tavistock Wheelers time trial ace Gavin MacDougall and Parker’s team-mate Ashley Towey.

Towey, only a first year junior rider, was holding his own with his more experienced rivals and drove the break hard to establish a gap.

With the Peloton being policed by Sluman’s team-mate James Cartlidge, the gap to the four breakaway riders opened to a comfortable half lap.

Parker tried unsuccessfully to distance his rivals with vicious accelerations twice in the last five laps but it was Sluman who lead out to win the headwind sprint with Parker five lengths in arrears, followed by Towey and MacDougall.

Corries James Cartlidge took the bunch gallop to claim fifth on the line.

In the elite race, Plymouth Corithians’ Sam Woods wasn’t overawed by some strong competition and rode strongly to a sixth place finish. The race was won by Raleigh Pro George Pym.

James Cartlidge takes 5th

Plymouth Corithians’ James Cartlidge takes fifth


Leave a Reply