Plymouth Albion / Rugby

Scottish lock Stewart to line-up against Albion at Brickfields


COLIN STEWART will return to Brickfields tonight when Plymouth Albion entertain Newton Abbot in their final pre-season fixture (7.30pm).

The Scottish lock (pictured centre), who spent three seasons at Albion between 2006 and 2009, will start in the second-row for the Devon All Whites.

It will be the first time Stewart, who is a player-coach at Rackerhayes, has lined up against Plymouth since leaving for France six years ago.

Joining him in Newton Abbot’s team will be former Albion development players Rob Avery-Wright, Dean Avery and Martin Browne.

The visitors were keen to have a look at Tom Putt, who will play for them if not needed by Albion. However, Plymouth boss Graham Dawe has included the teenager in his side.

Putt has come on as a replacement in Albion’s games against Jersey and Bedford, but tonight will be his first start, along with fellow youngsters Ben Hawley and Ollie Dawe and Cornwall duo Matt Shepherd and Jon Dawe.

Scrum-half Shepherd is due to take to the field just hours after returning from a month-long holiday in Thailand.

Albion boss Dawe said Shepherd was keen to play, even though he might be suffering from jet-lag.

“He’s really keen,” said Dawe. “We will soon know in the warm-up what he’s feeling like.

“It will be great for his team-mates and the supporters that he gets a run-out, even if it’s only for 30 minutes. We certainly don’t want to do him any damage.”

Admission into Brickfields is £5 for adults, with under-16s getting in free.

Albion: 15 Jake Murphy, 14 Jon Dawe, 13 Robin Wedlake, 12 Tom Putt, 11 George de Mendonca, 10 Billy Searle, 9 Matt Shepherd, 1 Ollie Dawe, 2 James Penman (capt), 3 Rupert Freestone, 4 Dave Fisher, 5 Jim Massey, 6 Ben Hawley, 7 Jarrard Hayler, 8 Chris Courtier. Reps: Dean Brooker, Ross Crang, Dan Pullinger, Nile Dacres, Paul Hamber, Dan Goldstone, Marc Koteczky, Tom Bedford, Andy Chesters, Elliot Bale, Seti Raumakita, Cameron Thompson.

Newton Abbot: 15 Will Castleton, 14 Jack Bond, 13 Kev Dennis, 12 Alex Moore, 11 Callum Gill, 10 Rob Avery-Wright, 9 Luke Kenny, 1 Lloyd Radford, 2 Dean Avery, 3 Will Cole, 4 Matt Templeman, 5 Colin Stewart, 6 Ben Smith, 7 Josh Vickridge, 8 Martin Browne. Reps: Josh Smith, Sam Gibbins, Will Andrews, Tom Brown, Charlie Dore, Ian Milton.

* Former Albion hooker Davy McGregor has joined Plymouth’s National One rivals Cinderford after leaving Scottish side Heriots.


Leave a Reply