Tamar Trotters’ Yeo and Erme Valley’s Hirons among Granite Way winners

SIMON YEO, Adam Holland and Sarah Hirons were among the winners at the Granite Way races on Sunday.

Tamar Trotters’ Yeo triumphed in the 10 mile event. He finished in a time of 59.27 minutes.

Yeo was more than four minutes ahead of his nearest rival in the race along the cycle path out of Okehampton.

Second was Okehampton’s Chris Turner, who clocked 1:03.46, with Andrew Green taking third spot in 1:03.53.

The women’s 10 mile race was won by Newton Abbot’s Annabella Evans, who finished in 1:10.03.

Second female was Teignbridge Trotters’ over-40 runner Tracy Elphick, who clocked 1:11.39, with Dawlish’s Melannie Brooks, another over-40 athlete, third in 1:12.04.

Former Tavistock runner Holland, who now competes for Notfast, won the 20 mile race in 1:56.49.

Holland, who holds a number of distance records, was well ahead of St Austell’s Paul Maskell, who finished second in 2:02.14.

Third was Maverick’s over-40 athlete Roy Brown in 2:02.49.

Erme Valley Harriers’ Hirons was first women home in the 20 mile race. She clocked 2:26.16.

Second female was South West Road Runners’ over-55 competitor Julie Hedges, who clocked 2:35.16. Her team-mate Kristen Blythe was third in 2:36.27.

Results of the 10 mile race can be viewed HERE.

Results of the 20 mile race can be viewed HERE.

Leave a Reply