Nine Ivybridge players named in Devon’s under-20 squad for County Shield opener

img_6485 Mitch Pinkus Cornwall Devon Under-20s

NINE Ivybridge players have been named in Devon’s Under-20 squad for their County Shield opener against Dorset & Wiltshire on Sunday.

There are also three Plymouth University players in the county’s starting line-up for the match at Bournemouth.

The Ivybridge players involved are Damon Akerman, Harry Lakeman, Lewis Barnaby, Mitch Pinkus, Connor Banks, Sean Harrison, Max Coles, Ben Collins and Jordan Smith.

Pinkus (pictured top), whose older brother, Billy, was part of Devon’s under-20 squad last season, will captain the team.

“It is massive honour to play for Devon and to captain them,” said the 18-year-old, who is a regular starter for Ivybridge in National Three South West.

“I played for the county at under-16, 17 and 18 levels and it’s nice to be involved all the way through. I also captained Devon under-17s.”

The Plymouth University players set to feature are forwards Ben Morris, Redford Blaylock and Tom Arnold.

Devon have played one warm-up game this season, which was at higher league opponents Cornwall at the end of January.

The Greens and Whites played well and were unlucky to lose 33-19 at Launceston in a match played in four quarters.

Pinkus said: “The coaching staff said they were really proud of the team after that game as it was the first time we had really played together.

“We all thought we played well and dug in all the way to the end. Although we lost, it was a massive platform to build on.”

Devon Under-20s: 15 Damon Akerman (Ivybridge), 14 Tom Robins (Sidmouth), 13 Harry Lakeman (Ivybridge), 12 Lewis Barnaby (Ivybridge), 11 Jake Prophett-O’Neill (Sidmouth), 10 Mitch Pinkus (Ivybridge), 9 Connor Banks (Ivybridge), 1 Ben Logan (Sidmouth), 2 Aidan Taylor (Exmouth), 3 Sean Harrison (Ivybridge), Ben Morris (Plymouth University), Redford Blaylock (Plymouth University), Tom Arnold (Plymouth University), Max Coles (Ivybridge), Robin Luscombe (Kingsbridge).

Replacements: Ben Collins (Ivybridge), Martin Carrick (Newton Abbot), Jordan Watson (Brixham), Joe Buller (Tiverton), Kyle Blackmore (Honiton), Jordan Smith (Ivybridge), A N Other.

Leave a Reply