Arnott hoping to help England to success at Nitro Athletics Series in Melbourne

James ArnottCITY of Plymouth sprinter James Arnott is in Australia preparing for one of the biggest competitions of his career.

Arnott is part of the England team which is taking part in the much-anticipated Nitro Athletics Series in Melbourne.

The series is a three-meet team-based competition that combines strength, endurance, power and extreme energy. It is said the new format could revolutionise track and field.

Usain Bolt is headlining the series and Arnott has been training alongside the world’s fastest man.

Bolt has his own ‘All Stars’ team which will be up against England, Australia, New Zealand, China and Japan in the competition.

Each team consists of 12 men and 12 women, with their combined scores counting.

Among the unique events will be the elimination mile, where the last runner at the end of each lap will be out of the race, the mixed medley relay and the three-minute distance challenge.

Arnott is set to compete in the seeded para sprint races, where distance advantages will be given to athletes depending on their classification.

The first leg of the series takes place on Saturday night in Australia and will be shown on BBC2 at 2.45pm on Sunday.

The second and third legs, also in Melbourne, will be on Thursday, February 9 and Saturday, February 12.

Christine Ohuruogu, who has won four Olympic medals including gold in 2008, is captain of the England team.

The full England team is:

Technical events:

Jo Blair (Luton/ Rugby & Northampton, David Burrell)
Karla Drew (Sheffield & Dearne, Antonio Minichiello)
Joe Dunderdale (Sheffield & Dearne)
Mary Elcock (Oldham & Royton, Karen Williams)
Adam Hague (Sheffield & Dearne/Sheffield Hallam Uni, Trevor Fox)
Scott Hall (Gateshead, Sam Stanislaus)
Gabriel Odujobi (Sale Harriers Manchester, Tony Jarrett)
Abigail Roberts (Sheffield & Dearne, Trevor Fox)

Power events:

Margaret Adeoye (Enfield & Haringey, Linford Christie)
James Arnott (City of Plymouth, Ryan Freckleton)
Theo Campbell (Birchfield H, James Hillier)
Confidence Lawson (Shaftesbury Barnet, Clarence Callender)
Erin McBride (Liverpool Harriers, Robert Roberts)
Christine Ohuruogu (Newham & Essex Beagles, Lloyd Cowan)
Kieran Showler-Davis (Basingstoke & Mid Hants, John Davis)
Conrad Williams (Kent, Lloyd Cowan)
Bianca Williams (Enfield & Haringey, Lloyd Cowan)
Hannah Williams (Herts Phoenix, Colin Gaynor)

Endurance events:

Alex Bell (Pudsey & Bramley, Aaron Thomas)
Alison Leonard (Blackburn, Bud Baldaro)
Michael Rimmer (Liverpool Pembroke, John Bigg)
Charlene Thomas (Wakefield, Aaron Thomas)
Jamie Webb (Liverpool H, Rob Denmark/ Adrian Webb)
Richard Weir (Derby, Spencer Duval)


Leave a Reply