Plymouth Albion / Rugby

Plymouth Albion sign forward Skinner from Exeter ahead of trip to Esher

Albion on their way to victory at Esher in January

Albion on their way to victory at Esher in January

PLYMOUTH Albion have signed Exeter Chiefs forward Sam Skinner ahead of their National One match at Esher on Saturday.

The England Under-20 back-row forward, who can also play lock, has arrived on a dual-registered agreement from Sandy Park.

Albion announced the signing of eight players from the Chiefs in the summer – Ed Holmes, Jack Maunder, Harrison Cully, Joe Simmonds, Will Norton, Billy Keast, Harry Strong and Paul Davies – but Skinner was not one of them.

The 21-year-old, who was loaned to Taunton last season, goes straight into Plymouth’s starting line-up, replacing his Chiefs colleague Holmes in the second-row.

“We are looking forward to seeing how Sam goes this weekend,” said Albion head coach Dan Parkes. “We know Exeter hold him in high regard and I hope he has a good debut.”

Albion make a number of changes to their team for the clash at Molesey Road.

Jack MaunderChiefs youngsters Norton, Keast and Maunder (pictured) return to the starting line-up after dropping out last weekend.

They are joined by George Mills, who replaces Dan Williams at number seven, and Tom Cowan-Dickie, who takes over from Jamie Salter at hooker as Albion once again change their entire front-row.

Rupert Freestone returns to the bench, where he is joined by Dan Collier, Cameron Setter, Sam Nixon and Dan Pullinger.

Albion head to Surrey looking for their first away win of the season.

They did beat Esher away last term, triumphing 30-15 at a venue that has not traditionally been a happy hunting ground for them.

Albion’s win in January, which saw Matt Shepherd score 20 points, was their first victory at Esher in six attempts.

Meanwhile, Albion have confirmed that back Dan Powell and lock Todd Prisk have rejoined their former clubs Exmouth and Redruth, respectively, on loan.

Albion: 15 Matt Shepherd, 14 Matt Crosscombe, 13 Seti Raumakita, 12 Joe Simmonds, 11 Robin Wedlake, 10 Kieran Hallett, 9 Jack Maunder, 1 Will Norton, 2 Tom Cowan-Dickie, 3 Billy Keast, 4 Nile Dacres, 5 Sam Skinner, 6 Rupert Cooper, 7 George Mills, 8 Herbie Stupple (capt). Reps: Sam Nixon, Rupert Freestone, Dan Pullinger, Dan Collier, Cameron Setter.


Leave a Reply