Plymstock’s Higginson and Argaum’s Hancock nominated for national awards

Plymouth Argaum president Steve Barnes v chairman Nick Hancock

PLYMSTOCK Albion Oaks’ Nigel Higginson and Plymouth Argaum’s Nick Hancock have been confirmed as finalists for the National Rugby Awards.

Higginson has been shortlisted in Club Volunteer of the Year category. The former National League referee has been the driving force for merging Plymstock’s juniors with the senior team.

Meanwhile, Argaum’s veteran Nick Hancock is one of six finalists for Men’s Plymouth of the Year (Amateur) category.

Hancock never played rugby at school but took it up later in life and within his second season of playing the game was made captain of Argaum. He has played a crucial role in the Bickleigh Down-based club’s recent success.

The winners will be announced at the National Rugby Awards ceremony, which will take place at Twickenham on September 1.

The judging panel included former England players Jeremy Guscott, Jeff Probyn, Catherine Spencer and journalist Nick Cain.

Leave a Reply