Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: Tamar Trotters, Tavistock AC and City of Plymouth impress at popular relay event

TAMAR Trotters, Tavistock AC and City of Plymouth AC were among the main winners at the popular Tavistock Relays on Thursday evening.

An impressive 145 teams took part in the annual event that forms part of the Tavistock Carnival and sees each runner in a four-person team complete a 1.1 mile lap around The Meadows.

The relays, hosted by Tavistock AC, were split into three races – juniors, women’s and men’s/mixed  – while there was also a family fun run beforehand.

The men’s event saw a great battle between Tamar Trotters and host club Tavistock AC, with Jacob Landers coming from behind in the final half-a-mile to bring the Trotters home for victory.

Tamar Trotters’ team of Richard Ezra-Ham, Luke Attwood, Oliver Oldfield and Landers finished in a time of 20.53 minutes.

The Tavistock AC quartet of Sam Larkham, Fynn Baker, Hayden Bond and Ben Neale were second in 20.59 minutes.

Third place went to Tavistock Run Project in 21.38 minutes. Their team was Jim Cole, Jordan Andrews, Ray Tew and Sam Colgate, with the Erme Valley Harriers side of Charlie Milward, Simon Fitz, Jamie Frost and Peter Allen fourth in 21.48 and East Cornwall Harriers fifth in 22.21 minutes.

Host club Tavistock AC dominated the women’s event and won by more than two-and-a-half minutes.

Their winning quartet of Nikki Kelly, Jasmine Gray, Charlotte Walker and Emma Ryder finished in an impressive time of 23.12 minutes.

Second place went to City of Plymouth’s team of Hannah Blair, Katy Anderson, Katie Burns an Hayley Smith in 25.54 minutes.

RunFit RunFast were third in 26.02 minutes with Jenny Sabine, Daisy Peters, Ruby Anderson and Nikki Kelly, while Storm’s Lightning Queens quartet of Lauren Knox, Lisa Ann, Rebecca Scott and Charlene Matthews were fourth (26.29) and East Cornwall Harriers fifth (27.01).

City of Plymouth impressed in the junior races. Their year 11/12 boys’ team of Thomas Jones, Douglas Richardson, Finley Squires and Joshua Bloxham came home first in 22.29 minutes.

Tavistock’s The Bulbows Buttercups were second overall in the junior race and first year 9/10 team in 23.23 minutes. Their side was made up of Rueben Sebag-Montefoire, Ollie Houlberg, Sebastian White and Ruben McAulay.

Their club colleagues and fellow year 9/10 team, the Scrumptious Specimens (Jonny Nolan, Noah Reid, Connor Duffin and Caleb Gifford-Groves) were third overall and second in their category.

City of Plymouth’s 11/12 girls’ quartet of Holly Reid, Imogen Rickard, Martha Wilson and Molly Shorey were fifth overall and the first female team in 24.52.

City of Plymouth also won the boys’ year 7/8 boys’ category, with Tavistock Tornadoes claiming the girls’ title in that age group.

Tavy Tigers were first year 9/10 girls, while Happy Feet won the year 5/6 boys’ top prize and TAC swifts the girls’ year 5/6 title.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All pictures are low resolution and are protected by copyright so should not be used without permission.


Leave a Reply