Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: Tamar Trotters’ Oldfield and Tavistock AC’s Kelly win Burrator 10k titles

TAMAR Trotters’ Oliver Oldfield and Tavistock Athletic Club’s Nikki Kelly claimed titles at the popular Burrator 10k on Saturday evening.

Oldfield led from the gun and, despite, Cornwall AC veteran Tony Wright pushing him hard, he was able to win by 33 seconds. He clocked a time of 35.35 minutes for the race that sees runners complete one full lap and then two-thirds of another around the Dartmoor reservoir.

Wright did come second and first M55 in 36.08 minutes, with Tavistock AC’s Hayden Bond third in 36.25 minutes.

Kelly, who has been in fine form this year, finished fourth overall and was first woman home by nearly five minutes with a time of 36.27 minutes.

Fifth placed overall and first M40 was Erme Valley Harriers’ Ronnie Haynes.

Haynes’ club colleagues Andrea Mitchell and Alan Gatling were also age group winners. Mitchell won the F50 category, while Gatling edged out Plymstock Road Runners’ Ian Lamerton for the M50 award.

Freedom Racing’s Lucy Williams was second woman overall in 41.21 minutes, with Reading Roadrunners’ Sarah Dooley third in 43.43.

Plymouth Harriers’ Yolanda Garcia-Davies was sixth woman overall and first F45, while Tavistock AC’s Jenny Bryant won the F55 award.

Nearly 400 runners finished the race, which was run in hot conditions.

Full results can be found HERE.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All pictures are low resolution and are protected by copyright so should not be used without permission.


Leave a Reply