Aquatics / Gallery

GALLERY: Plymouth Diving shine as they successfully host the Armada Cup again

UP-AND-COMING divers from around the country descended on the Life Centre earlier this week for Plymouth Diving’s annual Armada Cup.

The long-standing four-day event is one of the biggest on the diving calendar and has been a pathway competition for a host of Olympians over the years.

Dive London, Southend, Edinburgh, City of Leeds, Southampton, Albatross, Star Diving, Cambridge, Dacorum, Luton, Aberdeen, City of Sheffield and host club Plymouth all had divers competing at this year’s event.

And it proved to be a good competition for Plymouth, who showed their strength in depth across all the age groups by winning the team event with an impressive total of 547 points.

The host club particularly impressed in the synchronised events.

Katie Martin and Maia Pearson won the girls’ A/B three-metre synchro competition, with Isla Applin and Ava Cowper triumphing in the girls’ C/D one-metre version and Archie Waines and Oliver Heath taking the top honours in the boys’ A/B three-metre final.

In the C/D boys’ one-metre synchro final, William Heath and Oscar Westbury took silver, with team-mates Harry Westbury and Isaac Ide picking up bronze.

Oliver Heath dominated the events in the elite boys’ B category, where team-mate Theo Stevens also impressed and medalled.

William Heath picked up two golds in the boys’ C category, where Oscar Westbury also reached two finals.

Isla Applin had a good competition in the girls’ D category, where she won the one-metre event and also picked up medals in the three-metre and five-metre finals. Team-mate Teagan Mousley took silver in the three-metre.

Noah Underwood was a multi-medallist in the boys’ B age group, as was Harry Westbury in the boys’ D section.

Lexi Davies impressed and medalled in the girls’ B events, while Ellie Pearce was an individual medallist in the girls’ A category.

Great Britain junior international Euan McCabe also showed what he can do in the boys’ A three-metre event, alongside Archie Waines.

But it was the whole Plymouth squad that helped them win the team award, with numerous athletes making finals and picking up valuable points.

Plymouth’s team included: Katie Martin, Maia Pearson, Scarlett Colbourne, Ellie Pearce, Madeleine Elliott, Mathilde Tassart, Lexi Davies, Erin Healey, Yvie Tucker, Eva Lang, Martha Ticehurst, Rose McCabe, Ava Cowper, Poppy Jones, Eva Tsianavas, Isla Applin, Teagan Mousley, Alice Jones, Archie Waines, Euan McCabe, Oliver Heath, Theo Stevens, Ben Hall, Noah Underwood, Oscar Westbury, William Heath, Isaac Ide, Lincoln Stephen and Harry Westbury.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All pictures are low resolution and are protected by copyright so should not be used without permission.


Leave a Reply