Plymouth Leander stars named in new England swimming team

PLYMOUTH Leander’s Laura Stephens, Honey Osrin, Sophie Freeman and Reece Dunn have joined current Commonwealth Games champion Ben Proud in a new-look England swimming team.

The 85-strong squad has been selected to help England’s chances ahead of next year’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

The aim of the team is to bring together everyone who is likely to be considered for selection for the Games and help create a new ‘exciting identity’.

Selections were based on ‘performances that have been recorded that show potential to win medals in Birmingham either as an individual or as part of a relay team’.

Some swimmers have also been selected that have shown an outstanding performance curve that will also have an impact on selections for the Paris Olympics in 2024.

Grant Robins, Swim England head of talent, said: “We’d like to offer our congratulations to everyone who has been named in the first England Swimming Team – we hope it will lead to a real team unity that will deliver the best Games ever.

“Obviously there is still some time until the Commonwealth Games and there will be a selection policy that gives a period for performances once we are back in the pool for swimmers to demonstrate their potential.”

The England team will hold camps and head to competitions ahead of the Commonwealth Games.

England Swimming Team: Jonathan Adam, Freya Anderson, Jessica-Jane Applegate, Amy Bell, William Bell, Lily Booker, Jonny Booth, Cameron Brooks-Clarke, Cameron Brooker, Charlie Brown, Jack Burnell, Greg Butler, Jordan Catchpole, Imogen Clark, Elliott Clogg, Georgia Coates, Freya Colbert, Harry Constantine, Lauren Cox, Leah Crisp, Ryan Crouch, Katie Crowhurst, David Cumberlidge, Tom Dean, Alice Dearing, Reece Dunn, Louise Fiddes, Sophie Freeman, Michaella Glenister, Chloe Golding, Jakob Goodman, Izzy Goodwin, Luke Greenbank, Jacob Greenow, James Guy, Tom Hamer, Grace Harvey, Holly Hibbott, James Hollis, Anna Hopkin, Nathan Hughes, Ollie Hynd, Mikey Jones, Cameron Kurle, Emily Large, James Leach, Jay Lelliott, Joe Litchfield, Max Litchfield, Katie Matts, James McFazden, Ed Mildred, Stephanie Milward, David Murphy, Siobhan Marie O’Connor, Honey Osrin, Hector Pardoe, Adam Peaty, Will Perry, Jacob Peters, Ben Proud, Nick Pyle, Rebecca Redfern, Molly Renshaw, Megan Richter, Toby Robinson, Harriet Rodgers, Hannah Russell, Ciara Schlosshan, Ellie Simmonds, Mia Slevin, Laura Stephens, Maisie Summers-Newton, Alice Tai, Luke Turley, Kayla Van Der Merwe, Sarah Vasey, Tamryn Van Selm, Brock Whiston, Jacob Whittle, James Wilby, Brodie Williams, Aimee Willmot, Betsy Wizard, Abbie Wood.

Leave a Reply