Athletics / Gallery

GALLERY: Holland retains Lopwell Loop title, while records are broken at Tavy 5k

TAVISTOCK AC’s Adam Holland retained the Lopwell Loop title on Sunday morning.

Holland won the scenic circular 12k race from Tamerton Foliot to Lopwell Dam by more than a minute with a time of 46 minutes and 12 seconds.

Second place went to Plymstock Road Runners’ over-50 veteran Graham Bale, who ran nearly 40 seconds quicker than he had done the previous year when he also took second, with a time of 47.26 minutes.

Royal Navy athlete Sam Childs was third on the undulating course in a time of 49.40 minutes, with Launceston’s Darren Evans fourth in 50.36.

Tavistock AC’s Jodi Fisk was fifth overall and first women in 51.29 minutes, which was more than two minutes quicker than she had run the year before when she was third.

Second women was Storm Plymouth’s Lauren Knox in 55.38 minutes, with Tavistock AC’s Helen Orme third in 59.31 minutes.

The event, which is in its second year, is organised by Storm Plymouth and saw 167 finishes. (see gallery below)

Full results can be found HERE.

Meanwhile, City of Plymouth’s Jed Hutchings, Erme Valley Harriers’ Cleo Perry and Tavistock AC’s Lara Dix all broke age category records at the Tavy 5 on Saturday morning.

Hutchings was sixth overall in an impressive time of 17.42 minutes, which was an under-13 record. It also ranks him sixth for the 5k distance nationally at that age group.

He was only beaten by Plymouth Harriers’ Steve Fletcher who won in 16.43 minutes, Tavistock AC’s Joe Beaton, who took second in 17.08, Tavistock’s Will Russell, who was third in 17.33, Plymouth Musketeers’ David Shepherd (fourth, 17.35) and Plymouth Harriers’ Alex Peyton-Jones (fifth, 17.37).

There was a strong women’s entry this month, which led to some fast times.

Tamar Trotters’ Bex Ezra edged out Plymouth Harriers’ Katy Hedgethorne by just two seconds to finish as first women. Ezra clocked 18.22 minutes, with Hedgethorne finishing in 18.24.

Erme Valley’s Perry was third women in 18.53 minutes, which was a new record for the F45 category. Plymouth Harriers’ Ami Yetton was fourth in 19.06 minutes, with Exeter Harriers’ youngster Jasmine Stone fifth in 20.06.

Tavistock’s Lara Dix was first under-13 in a new record time of 21.04.

Full results can be found HERE.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply