Slade returns to England’s starting line-up, where he is joined by Simmonds and Genge

PLYMOUTH’S Henry Slade returns to England’s starting line-up for their final autumn international against Samoa on Saturday at Twickenham.

Slade lined up against Argentina at inside centre, but dropped to the bench for last weekend’s game against Australia.

However, he is given another chance to shine, this time at outside centre, against a physical Samoan side.

Also included in the England starting XV are fellow former Albion dual-registered players Sam Simmonds and Ellis Genge.

Devon-born Simmonds will be making his first start for his country.

England head coach Eddie Jones said of the back-row forward: “He’s got a great opportunity. He’s a young guy with great speed who’s a good ball carrier and a sound tackler. We just want to see these simple things from him.”

Jones added: “This is an exciting squad to play against Samoa and we are expecting them to be immensely physical and committed this weekend.

“We want to follow up last week’s performance against Australia and play better again this week. Our intent in every game and every training session is to be better.

“This week it is an opportunity for some squad members who haven’t been playing to put their best foot forward. We will have to play smart and will need to find ways to win the contest against Samoa.”

England: 15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 63 caps), 14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 28 caps), 13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 9 caps), 12 Alex Lozowski (Saracens 3 caps), 11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 15 caps), 10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 39 caps) co-captain, 9 Danny Care (Harlequins 75 caps), 1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers 4 caps), 2 Jamie George (Saracens 19 caps), 3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 76 caps), 4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 46 caps), 5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby 5 caps), 6 Maro Itoje (Saracens 13 caps), 7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 58 caps) co-captain, 8 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs 2 caps).

Replacments: 16 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 88 caps), 17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 52 caps), 18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 4 caps), 19 Nick Isiekwe (Saracens 1 cap), 20 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 60 caps), 21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 72 caps), 22 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints 2 caps), 23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 3 caps).

Leave a Reply