Wedlake to make his England Counties debut against Basque side Euskarians

PLYMOUTH Albion back Robin Wedlake will make his England Counties debut on Wednesday against Basque side Euskarians in San Sebastian (6.30pm BST).

Wedlake, who featured in all four of Cornwall’s County Championships matches this month, will line-up on the wing for the representative national side.

His team-mates for the past two seasons at Albion, Matt Shepherd and Nile Dacres, have been named on the bench for the match in Spain on Wednesday.

They have both featured for England Counties before and are likely to start against Spain in Guadalajara on Saturday.

England Counties team manager Matt Long said: “We expect that both the Basque Country team and Spain will want to play a quick game, and we must adapt to that accordingly.”

Wedlake is also eligible to play international rugby for Belgium and playing for England Counties will not rule out that as an option in the future.

He and Shepherd have signed new contracts at Brickfields, but forward Dacres will join Coventry this summer.

England Counties: 15  Pete Swatkins (Sheffield Tigers and Yorkshire), 14  Max Trimble (Coventry and Warwickshire), 13  Albert Portsmouth (Cambridge and Eastern Counties), 12  Jack Lavin (Caldy and Cheshire), 11  Robin Wedlake (Plymouth and Cornwall), 10  Rhys Hayes (Caldy and Cheshire), 9  Dave Brazier (Coventry and North Midlands), 1  Hayden King (Old Albanians and Hertfordshire), 2  Fran Entressengle (Huddersfield and Yorkshire), 3  Alex Gilthrow (Clifton and Somerset), 4  Joe Makin (Hull Ionians and Yorkshire), 5  Rob Birtwelln (Sedgley Park and Lancashire), 6  Keith Laughlin (Blaydon and Northumberland, capt), 7  Harry Bate (Old Albanians and Hertfordshire), 8  Ed Milne (Rosslyn Park and Surrey)
Replacements: 16  Dan Seal (Cambridge and East Midlands) , 17  Neil Sweeney (Esher and Surrey), 18  Matt Collins (Ampthill and East Midlands), 19  Nile Dacres (Plymouth and North Midlands), 20  Jack Preece (Moseley and Gloucestershire), 21  Pete White (Coventry and East Midlands), 22  Sam Baker (Ampthill and East Midlands), 23  Tom Wheatcroft (Coventry and Leicestershire), 24  Tom Baldwin (Blackheath and Kent), 25  James Stokes (Coventry and Warwickshire), 26  Matt Shepherd (Plymouth and Cornwall)

Leave a Reply