Plymouth rugby players named in Devon Ladies’ squad to face champions Surrey

PLYMOUTH Albion Ladies are once again well represented in the Devon squad for their second County Championship match of the season against champions Surrey at Withycombe on Sunday (2.30pm).

Five Albion players will start – Megan Higgins, Caitlin Short, Lilly Goddard, Donna Downes and Tilly Higgie – with teenager Chloe Dawe on the bench.

Devon opened their campaign up last weekend with a 32-24 away win at Gloucestershire.

Captain Downes, Goddard and Short were among the try scorers in that match at Cleve.

Devon will face a tough test this weekend against a Surrey side, who draw heavily on players from Richmond. They opened their defence of the title with a 25-5 home win over Berkshire last Saturday.

Devon team to face Surrey at Withycombe

15 Lauren Mueller (Topsham)

14 Dawn Latham-Mahoney (Topsham)

13 Megan Higgins (Plymouth Albion)

12 Caitlin Short (Plymouth Albion)

11 Lilly Goddard (Plymouth Albion)

10 Charlotte Green (Cullompton)

9 Charley Wright (Cullompton)

1 Donna Downes (capt, Plymouth Albion)

2 Claire Knighton (Cullompton)

3 India Chambers (Withycombe)

4 Tilly Higgie (Plymouth Albion)

5 Charlotte Harvey (Topsham)

6 Gemma Parish (Cullompton)

7 Amy Alford (Cullompton)

8 Liz Richards (Cullompton)


16 Chloe Dawe (Plymouth Albion)

17 Elena Wallis (Newton Abbot)

18 Corinne Walsh (Topsham)

19 Natasha Currie (Topsham)

20 Sophie Kukor (Topsham)

21 Rachel Popham-Dowle (Topsham)

22 Nikita Frere (Exeter University)

Leave a Reply