Plymouth’s Tuima keeps her starting spot in England Under-20 side

PLYMOUTH Albion players Lagi Tuima lagi Tuimaand Michaella Roberts have kept their places in the England Under-20 women’s squad for Saturday’s match against France at Esher (3pm).

The pair featured in the young England side’s 38-15 win over the Army earlier this month.

Tuima, 18, who came through Devonport Services’ junior set-up, will start again at inside centre, with Cornwall’s Roberts once again named among the replacements.

The England Under-20 side are captained by Devonian Poppy Leitch, who has six full senior caps to her name, while fellow Devon player Ellie Gilbert could make her debut after being named on the bench.

“We were pleased with our performance against Army Women, particularly in the second half, but there is still a lot to work on and we are hoping to build on that against France,” said England Under-20 head coach Jo Yapp.

“We have made a few changes to the squad to give other players an opportunity to show us what they can do and we are confident this group can build on their performance both individually and as a team.

“As we know France are a very strong side and they will really challenge our players, but we are looking forward to seeing how the players respond to the test.

“As a development side these games are crucial for preparing the girls for that step up into the senior squad.”

England Under-20s: 15. Catriona McNaney (Bristol, University of Exeter), 14. Sophie Tandy (Aylesford Bulls), 13. Ella Wyrwas (Welwyn, Hartpury College), 12. Lagilagi Tuima (Plymouth Albion), 11. Emma Uren (Saracens, St Mary’s University, Twickenham), 10. Zoe Harrison (Saracens, Middlesex University), 9. Tazmin Bricknell (Bristol, Hartpury College), 1. Ellena Perry (Saracens, Coventry University), 2. Hannah West (Wasps, Brunel University), 3. Ellie Mulhearn (Bristol, Filton College), 4. Molly Morrissey (Lichfield, Hartpury College), 5. Anna Wolf (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, Northumbria University), 6. Sally Stott (Vale of Lune, Edinburgh University), 7. Poppy Leitch (Bristol, University of Exeter) ©, 8. Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, Northumbria University).

Replacements: 16. Ellie Gilbert (Exeter Saracens, Hartpury College), 17. Michaella Roberts (Plymouth Albion), 18. Brogan Churm (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, Northumbria University), 19. Rosanna Moynihan (Welwyn, Hartpury College), 20. Charlie Wilcock (Waterloo), 21. Brooke Bradley (Bristol), 22. Lucy Attwood (Bristol, University of Bristol), 23. Brooke Clarke (Worcester Valkyries).

Leave a Reply