Athletics / School sport

Mount Kelly College athlete Smart wins medal at South West Schools’ Champs

img_4556 Oliver Smart

MOUNT Kelly College pupil Oliver Smart produced an impressive run to win a medal at the South West Schools’ Cross Country Championships at Truro on Saturday.

The Tavistock AC athlete finished third in the junior boys’ race in Cornwall, finishing behind Somerset’s Henrik Wendin and his Devon team-mate Johnny Livingstone.

Wendin clocked 13.44 minutes, with Exeter’s Livingstone finishing in 13.51 and Smart coming home in 14.04.

Apart from Smart and Livingstone, the only other Devon athlete to collect an individual medal at the event was Exeter’s Sam Mills in the minor boys’ race.

Mount Kelly’s Natasha Farrington, who also runs for Tavistock AC, finished 10th in the intermediate girls’ race, where Devon won the team event with six athletes in the top 23.

Devonport High School for Girls’ Emily Cornish just missed out on a top 10 finish, coming home in 12th place in the minor girls’ race.

Devon Schools’ finishers were as follows:

Minor girls race: 12 Emily Cornish, 14 Kristyna Cade, 16 Jessica Courtney, 35 Holly Dunning, 36 Isabell Page, 40 Ella Isaias, 45 Emily Adcock, 50 Elena Christley, 59 Katie Harries.

Minor boys: 2 Sam Mills, 6 Billy Turl, 11 Max Ferguson, 20 William Jenkins-Davies, 23 Oliver Capps, 25 George Thomas, 31 Robert Morgan, 32 Cohen Phillips, 37 James Lamb, 40 Morgan Alcock.

Junior girls: 14 Megan Hamilton-Strong, 36 Ella Fraser-Smith, 38 Eliza Banbury, 47 Kate Marriott, 53 Jasmine Stone, 57 April Oakshott, 58 Isobel Edworthy 64 Millie Ayres.

Junior boys: 2 Johnny Livingstone, 3 Oliver Smart, 15 Sime Harrison, 18 Josh Miller, 22 Fraser Moran, 23 Alex Bly, 26 Rio Turl, 35 Euan Bothan, 62 Luca Taylor-Haydon.

Intermediate girls: 5 Caitlin Apps, 6 Amelia Moody, 9 Chloe Olford, 10 Natasha Farrington, 19 Harriet Turner, 23 Georgina Mitchell, 25 Eleanor Brandon, 28 Anna Downs, 41 Courtney Howard.

Intermediate boys: 12 Hamish James, 15 Elliot Moran, 16 Simon Davis, 17 Tom Brew, 23 James Williams, 26 Toby Garrick, 27 Lee Dart, 35 Seth Perkin, 61 Jonathan Cresswell.

Senior girls: 5 Eevee-May Banbury, 13 Madeleine Roche, 17 Annabelle Evans, 20 Emily Oakshott, 22 Emma Ryder, 39 Lauren Coleman, 44 Laura Barnes, 47 Yasmin Wafia.

Senior boys: 8 Callum Cloules, 17 Joe Battershill, 21 Evan Kernahan, 25 Kyle Hartnell, 28 Tom Blackford, 38 Dougal Glaisher, 42 Aaran Cheung, 47 Hayden Fey, 57 Ross Clarke.

Full results can be found HERE.

Leave a Reply