Plymouth clubs well represented in Devon Under-20 squad

jIM massey

Albion’s Jim Massey (centre) will make his Devon Under-20 debut on Sunday

PLYMOUTH rugby players are well represented in the Devon Under-20 squad, who open their County Championship campaign against Gloucestershire at Brixham on Sunday (2.30pm).

Ivybridge have four players in the 22-man party, Devonport Services three and Plymouth University and Plymouth Albion one apiece.

Albion’s 19-year-old forward Jim Massey brings considerable experience to the Devon Under-20 squad. The University of St Mark and St John student has made one start in National One for Albion this season and played half a season last term in National Two for Lydney.

Massey will form a second-row partnership with Devonport Services’ highly-rated forward Ty Busfield.

IMG_7969Ivybridge prop Sean Harrison and flanker Joe Walker also feature in the Devon pack, while Cross-in-Hand team-mate Billy Pinkus will start at centre alongside Brixham’s Plymouth-based back Dean Squire. Fellow Ivybridge back Damian Ackerman is named on the bench.

Exeter University’s Jack Rouse (pictured), who spent the summer training with Plymouth Albion, will captain the side at number eight.

Gareth Jones, who is Devon’s head coach, said: “Weather will almost certainly play a part in the game this weekend.

“It has stopped Devon having any trial games but I feel at present that may be a positive as the players are keen to play and make sure they keep their places for the next game against Berkshire at Ivybridge on Sunday, February 28.”

Devon beat Gloucestershire at Cinderford last season and reached the quarter-final stage of the competition.

Devon Under-20s: Luke Simmons (Launceston), Harvey Ridgeway (Exmouth), Dean Squire (Brixham), Billy Pinkus (Ivybridge), Jack Bond (Newton Abbot), Jordan Petherbridge (Barnstaple), Harvey Rumens (Sidmouth), Haydon Down (Sidmouth), Sean Harrison (Ivybridge), Will Mason (Plymouth University), Jim Massey (Albion), Tyler Busfield (Devonport Services), Jonathan Merrin (Kingsbridge), Joe Walker (Ivybridge), Jack Rouse (Exeter University). Reps: Joe Daley (Devonport Services), Freddie Buckle (Kingsbridge), Richard Hull (Sidmouth), Tom Bottoms (Newton Abbot), Ashley Bradnock (Crediton), Luke Stannard (Devonport Services), Damian Ackerman (Ivybridge). Standby: Ben Morris (Plymouth University), Dom Mulberry (Saltash).

Leave a Reply